Board of Governors

Legislation:  The Board of Governors shall consist of 20 members. The NCAA president and the chairs of the Division I Council and the Division II and Division III Management Councils shall be ex officio nonvoting members, except that the NCAA president is permitted to vote in the case of a tie among the voting members present and voting. The other 16 voting members shall include: (a) eight chancellors or presidents from the Division I Board of Directors from Football Bowl Subdivision institutions; (b) Two chancellors or presidents from the Division I Board of Directors from Football Championship Subdivision institutions; (c) two chancellors or presidents from the Division I Board of Directors from Division I subdivision institutions; (d) two Division II chancellors or presidents from the Division II Presidents Council; and (e) two Division III chancellors or presidents from the Division III Presidents Council.

Liaisons:  Donald Remy, Terri Carmichael Jackson
Chair:  Kirk Schulz (Jan 2015 - Aug 2016)

*Eligible for reappointment
DivisionCommittee PositionsTitleName & InstitutionConferenceTerm
      Ex officio Member   NCAA President   Mark Emmert
  FBS   Member   AD   James Phillips
  Northwestern University
  Big Ten Conference JUL 2019
  FBS   Member   Chancellor   Gene D. Block
  University of California, Los Angeles
  Pac-12 Conference AUG 2016
  FBS   Member   President   David Leebron
  Rice University
  Conference USA AUG 2016
  FBS   Member   President   E. Joseph Savoie
  University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  Sun Belt Conference AUG 2017
  FBS   Member   President   Harris Pastides
  University of South Carolina, Columbia
  Southeastern Conference AUG 2016
  FBS   Member   President   John C. Hitt
  University of Central Florida
  American Athletic Conference AUG 2017
  FBS   Chair   President   Kirk Schulz
  Kansas State University
  Big 12 Conference AUG 2016
  FBS   Member   President   Roderick McDavis
  Ohio University
  Mid-American Conference AUG 2017
  FBS   Member   President   Stan L. Albrecht
  Utah State University
  Mountain West Conference AUG 2017
  FCS   Member   President   Baker Pattillo
  Stephen F. Austin State University
  Southland Conference AUG 2019
  FCS   Member   President   Philip J. Hanlon
  Dartmouth College
  The Ivy League AUG 2015
  DI   Member   President   David R. Hopkins
  Wright State University
  Horizon League AUG 2015
  DI   Member       Daniel Papp
  Kennesaw State University
  Atlantic Sun Conference AUG 2017
  II   Management Council Rep.   FAR   Timothy Ladd
  Palm Beach Atlantic University
  Independent JAN 2016
  II   Member   President   Judith A. Bense
  University of West Florida
  Gulf South Conference JAN 2016
  II   Member   President   Steve Scott
  Pittsburg State University
  Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association JAN 2016*
  III   Management Council Rep.   AD   Lori Runksmeier
  New England College
  North Atlantic Conference JAN 2016
  III   Member   President   Alan S. Cureton
  University of Northwestern-St. Paul
  Upper Midwest Athletic Conference JAN 2016*
  III   Member   President   L. Jay Lemons
  Susquehanna University
  Landmark Conference JAN 2019