Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee

Legislation:  Eighteen members, including a current chancellor or president from each division. There shall be six members from Division I, six members from Division II and six members from Division III. One student-athlete from each division (who shall have one combined vote) shall serve as members of the committee. The division I student-athlete may serve on the committee up to one year after completion of his or her intercollegiaite athletics eligibility. The Division II and Division III student-athletes may serve on the committee up to two years after completion of their athletics eligibility. Committee membership shall include a minimum of eight ethnic minorities, including at least four males and four females.

Liaisons:  Sonja Robinson, Derrick Crawford, Sahar Abdur-Rashid
Chair:  Mark Alnutt (Sep 2015 - Aug 2017)

*Eligible for reappointment
DivisionCommittee PositionsTitleName & InstitutionConferenceTerm
  FBS   Chair   Deputy Athletic Director   Mark Alnutt
  University of Memphis
  American Athletic Conference AUG 2017
  FBS   Member   SWA, Senior Associate Athletics Director   Nona E. Richardson
  University of Utah
  Pac-12 Conference AUG 2017
  FBS   Member   Sr. Assoc. Director of Athletics   Bob Minnix
  Washington State University
  Pac-12 Conference AUG 2019
  FBS   Student-Athlete Rep.   Student-Athlete   Robert B. Bramlett
  University of Mississippi
  Southeastern Conference JUN 2016
  FCS   Member   President   William B. Bynum, Jr.
  Mississippi Valley State University
  Southwestern Athletic Conf. AUG 2018
  FCS   Member   SWA   Sharon Brummell
  Georgetown University
  Big East Conference AUG 2018
  II       Assistant Vice President/Athletics   China Jude
  Queens College (New York)
  East Coast Conference AUG 2016
  II   Member   Director of Athletics   Anthony Grant
  Metropolitan State University of Denver
  Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference AUG 2019
  II   Management Council Rep.   FAR   Thomas Bullock
  University of the District of Columbia
  East Coast Conference JAN 2019
  II   Member   President   James Smith
  Northern State University
  Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference AUG 2019
  II   Member   SWA, Asst. Director of Athletics/Compliance   Angela Red
  McKendree University
  Great Lakes Valley Conference AUG 2018
  II   Student-Athlete Rep.   Student-Athlete   Elijah Sanabria
  Tiffin University
  Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference JAN 2017
  III   Management Council Rep.   Assoc AD   Nnenna O. Akotaobi
  Swarthmore College
  Centennial Conference JAN 2018
  III   Member   Commissioner   Julie Muller
  North Atlantic Conference
  North Atlantic Conference AUG 2016
  III   Member   FAR   Ralph Bertrand
  Colorado College
  Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference AUG 2016
  III   Member   President   Robert Head
  Rockford University
  Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference AUG 2016
  III   Member   SWA   Ashley Hodges
  Southern Vermont College
  New England Collegiate Conference AUG 2019