#### MINUTES OF THE

### NATIONAL COLLEGIATE ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION

### DIVISION III NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Telephone Conference

November 10, 2009

# Participants:

Christyn Chambers, Swarthmore College Julius Erlenbach, University of Wisconsin, Superior Rudy Keeling, Eastern College Athletic Conference Sue Lauder, Fitchburg State University Tim Millerick, Austin College, chair Laurie Turner, Pacific Lutheran University Christopher Walker, University of Redlands Sharon Tufano, NCAA

Joanne Renn, Virginia Wesleyan College, was unable to participate.

[Note: These minutes contain only actions taken (formal votes or stated "sense of the meeting") in accordance with NCAA policy regarding minutes of all Association entities. While certain items on the committee's agenda were acted on at various times throughout the meeting, all final actions within a given topic are combined in these minutes for convenience of reference.]

The meeting was called to order at 2:03 p.m. by the chair, Mr. Millerick.

1. <u>Previous</u> minutes.

It was VOTED

"To approve the minutes of the September 22, 2009, meeting as distributed."

- 2. <u>Informational documents</u>. The committee reviewed the resignation list and the conference and independent institutions representation chart. The committee identified those conferences that are under-represented in the committee structure.
- 3. Nominations for committee vacancies.

It was VOTED

"To recommend the following general committee appointments and forward to the Division III Administrative Committee. All appointments are effective immediately, unless otherwise noted:

\_\_\_\_

- <u>Division III Management Council</u>. January 2010 vacancy Stanton Ching, faculty athletics representative, Connecticut College.
- <u>Committee on Competitive Safeguards and Medical Aspects of Sports.</u> Immediate vacancy replacing Dan Pepicelli Susan Davis, head men's and women's swimming coach, Swarthmore College.
- <u>Division III Infractions Appeals Committee</u>. Three January 2010 vacancies -- Michele Krantz, senior counsel, Case Western Reserve University; Del Malloy, commissioner, New England Collegiate Conference; Bob Rafferty, attorney, Bricker & Eckler (public member)."

## It was VOTED

"To recommend the following sport committee appointment and forward to the Championships Committee.

- <u>Division III Men's Lacrosse Committee</u>. Immediate vacancy replacing David Zazzaro Stewart Moan, head men's lacrosse coach, Susquehanna University, Landmark Conference."
- 4. <u>Nominating Committee composition</u>. The committee referred the discussion of changing the legislated composition of the Nominating Committee to include a conference commissioner until its February 2010 meeting.
- 5. <u>Future meetings</u>. The committee's next in-person meeting is February 18, 2010 (Indianapolis. The meeting will convene at 8:30 a.m. and adjourn no later than 2 p.m.
- 6. The meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

# # # # #